What's new

Super stealth growbox build / Best practices? / In need of direction

jimpalabre

Hey everyone. First post on the forum!

I have had some experience with growing autoflowers in the past, but always limited to growing them in fabrics pots in my garden. I'm now considering getting started on building my first stealth grow box and have been amassing information here and there, but I have a few specific questions I can't find an answer to easily.

I'd like to build a small grow box, to accommodate a single plant, that would be placed in my bedroom, tucked away in a recess that I'm using to store clothes as of now. I don't want anything too big. Something along the lines of repurposing an Ikea Eket Cabinet (35x35x70cm).

I would use a SCROG technique and lots of training to keep the plants as low and dense as possible.

I have some prerequisite that are non-negotiable:

- It has to be as silent as possible.
- It has to be as odorless as possible.

I was thinking of fitting a Mars Hydro TS600 or TS1000 in there. Also looking at going with a hydroponic system, but it's very hard to find relevant informations as to how to build a small hydroponic system.

I've seen some build where the air extraction system is tucked away in another compartment up top. Does this help with noise? How about lining the inside with soundproofing foam before adding mylar on top?

I couldn't find many informations on using 'mufflers' around the extract. I also thought about lining the holes reserved for intake with one of these very dense foam that are used under washing machines to keep them from passing vibrations to the floor.

I'm not in any rush and I would like to really implement as many quality ideas as possible to ensure I get the quiest and most optimized box. I would like to go DIY as much as can be.

Is there anyone on here who mastered the art of silent/odorless growboxes?

Thanks in advance!

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran