What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

soil buffer, and ph adjustments

lilnug420

i grow outdoors

i have a question about how soil buffers work, so i've been growing for a few years using terra canna professional which has a ph of around 5.8

i was told that soils have buffers that make it so the ph always stays the same, if that's so, what's the point of adjusting ph before watering? if the soil adjusts itself?

how long do these buffers last? do they get used up with time?

does flushing a plant use up the buffer? i wanna do a flush before up-potting my girls to get rid of excess salts, when i flush i usually run tap water trough the soil for half an hour or so, until the water comes out clear and not yellow

would this consume the ph buffer? i wanna flush before uppotting from a 3gal container to a 10 gal one, and then do another flush a week or so before they switch to flowering.

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
There's a big difference between terra canna professional mix and outdoor soil. Alkalinity always takes precedence over everything else. You can't change that without also changing the soil quality. You grow outdoors and use terra canna professional. Do you put the mix in the ground or in the container and grow it outdoors?

growsjoe1

Premium user
Veteran
As for whether flushing a plant uses up the pH buffering capacity of soil, it's a debated topic among growers. Some believe that flushing can deplete the soil's buffering capacity, while others argue that it has no significant effect.

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran