What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Pigeon poop?

DanTheReggaeFan

Has anybody used pigeon poop in their gardens? I work with somebody who keeps pigeons so I have access to the poop if I need it but I'm pretty new to organics and don't really know how I would go about using it. Should I mix it in with the soil before I use it and let it cook for a couple weeks before planting or can it be top dressed, or maybe another way?

Also am I right in thinking it's like chicken poop so high in N and would be best for veg. What are the other benefits/negatives of pigeon poop? Thanks for any help.

Donald Mallard

el duck
Veteran
a guy who wrote an organic gardening book i have swears by the stuff , but i think you need to use it sparingly due to some pretty high nitrogen content..

Donald Mallard

el duck
Veteran
278852341_692494445332546_3363854205531448304_n.jpg

St. Phatty

Depends on how well the birds are fed.

I have a group of 11 miniature chickens that were hatched in January. The biggest one is the size of a pigeon.

They get a combination of carbs, proteins, grains, vitamins, and Free Range food.

One of the things I like about them is that they eat Blackberry leaves. Not enough to stop the blackberries from growing, but still admirable.

If you have some pet pigeons & feed them good, their poop should be very high quality plant food.

chilliwilli

Waterboy
Never used that stuff but like the others said its heavy in nitrogen. Maybe your buddy has some aged stuff so the n is leached out?
I think its the same with guano, the more aged the stuff the more n is gone and mostly p is left.