What's new

Pickling and Canning

TheUnknownGrowe

I’m a rookie, I grew up surrounded by jars but this is my first year doing the deed.

This is pickling, I need a pressure canner to can low acid foods (like beans), but for now this’ll do….
Beets, cloves and garlic
Spicy Beans, green bush and yellow wax, mustard, dill, garlic and Hungarian Wax Peppers (from last years harvest)
Carrots, cooked, 1/2 garlic and dill, 1/2 garlic, dill and pickling spice
I’ll do raw carrots next weekend, my kitchen is a disaster area and I gotta clean up.

Attachments

• 97043D1F-FBDE-400B-8677-4AC3484A6DE1.jpeg
    97043D1F-FBDE-400B-8677-4AC3484A6DE1.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 79
  • C9EFA07A-023D-4ED7-AF71-640B161FF2BB.jpeg
    C9EFA07A-023D-4ED7-AF71-640B161FF2BB.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 78
  • ED269F47-CC47-4A64-A46B-1DCAC78DDE2E.jpeg
    ED269F47-CC47-4A64-A46B-1DCAC78DDE2E.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 78

iTarzan

Looking good. I plan to do more canning next year. I like not having to depend on electricity. This year it will be freezing stuff from the garden.

I am going to be harvesting some cabbage soon. I plan to make sauerkraut for the first time. I have been freezing garden beans, Roma beans and broccoli. Soon lima beans will be coming on.

Fermenting and pickling stuff is a good craft to know.

Nannymouse