What's new

Let’s talk vpd

As the title says. Let’s discuss what your exp is with what you would consider an acceptable vapor pressure deficit. We’ve all seen the charts and what to shoot for as far as they go but what have you exp first hand. I live in a climate where humidity is a bitch! I am in my first legal commercial grow and am using a modified greenhouse structure. My build is by no way sealed and I must rely on exhaust fans as well as humidifiers to try and control and maintain what I would think is a good vpd. As a rule of thumb as a grower I’ve always tried to keep my humidity at 60 or less while in flower. As I’m studying vpd and what it means as well as battling my weather I’m finding I can still hit what is considered a good vpd with 70% or even a lil higher relative humidity as long as I keep the temps high. This goes against everything I’ve ever been taught so I’m here asking what you guys think or what have you seen personally. Is it really ok to flower with so much humidity as long as the heat is high enough to keep the vpd at the acceptable numbers? How likely is mold or bud rot? I have excellent air flow throughout the grow so it’s always moving.

dank.frank

ef.yu.se.ka.e.em
ICMag Donor
Veteran
VPD is for growing vegetation. I want to grow trichomes. Any temps over 78 degrees, indoors, will reduce trichome field density. Follow VPD during the first couple weeks of flower to increase growth rates and once stretch stops, I ignore it completely.

dank.Frank

stiff

Veteran
don't forget,high humidity is no good for your filter.
At 75% humidity your charcoal filter is most likely gone or on its way out.
Time for an AC unit or dehumidifier when it comes close to it..at least in flower.

100% accurate. Above 60-65% you will see a reduction in the lifespan and efficacy of carbon.

dan