What's new

Is a little bit of rain during late flowering OK?

Looks like some of the first rain of the season for my area (northern California) is going to make it's way through in a couple days. This is my first time growing, just wondering what ya'll have to say about leaving the plants out in the rain or covering them up so they remain dry?.....

From the little bit of searching around and reading I've done It seems some folks get very concerned about the rain during flowering and don't let a drop on their plants....others say it doesn't bother the plants a bit given that the rain isn't intense (potentially damaging trichomes) and given that it's not a persistent multi-day storm and with days of lingering high humidity (risk of mold/mildew/etc...)

In my area specifically we're not going to receive much rain, at the moment it's looking like a tenth or two of an inch over the span of an 24 hour window (Wed evening to Thur evening)...Then the following days it will be clear and the high temps will be in the mid to upper 70s, and nightly lows in the mid 50s...Humidity of 30% to 40% during the days and up to 75% late night/early morning.

I'd love for my plants to get a nice natural "shower"/rinse off and some drinks of rain water during their last days, but if it's really that risky during late flower for what ever reason I'll put a tarp over the hoops and shelter them......I'm expecting to let them go for another 7 to 10 days after the rain before I harvest, probably sometime around the 11th to 14th .

The plants that I still have out there are Tangieland and Frosted Cherry Cookies, if that matters at all...(I've heard some strains are far more susceptible to mold/mildew/etc than others).

Apache123

Im in the same boat. We're supposed to get 0.25" of Rain. I checked out the Trichomes and the ratio is 90% opaque, 5% Clear and 5% Amber. I might harvest everything tomorrow before the rains come on Wednesday. I would like to let them go another 2 weeks or so.