What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

dna in seeds from clones.

timmyd3853

i have an odd question. i made some clones from a durban mother i had then flipped one of the clones to male with silver thiosulfate. my question is do the seeds from plants with the same dna have the same dna sequence or is the dna sequence random from seed to seed? weird shit you think of when your stoned on your own product LOL. anyway i hope someone can give me an informed answer. forgive my ignorance if this is a stupid question im pretty new to the breeding thing so just trying to keep myself well informed as possible. thanks tim

CaptainDankness

You're still going to have recessive traits from the grandparents, great grandparents and all, but a selfed plant will bottleneck the genes more than a cross. Males are definitely a little difficult cause the only way to truly know you have a keeper male is by growing out seeds.

timmyd3853

thanks capt i thought as much thats why i asked but it was a hope anyway that youd end up with sort of a clone seed. but i figured nature would take its own course like it always does irrespective of what we humans do to her.

clearheaded