What's new

Could someone help me understand the difference between these 2 labels please?

Growdo Baggins

I've gotten a recommendation for amending my soil. It calls for 1 cup calphos (soft rock phosphate) which is 0-3-0. It says it has 3% available P with 15% or so total P. I've locally source an amendment called Phosul. It's labeled 0-16-0. But it says on the bag 16% total P and 6% available P. But it's labeled 0-16-0. So if I'm subbing out the phosul for the calphos I should do the math based on it having 6% available P and ignore that it's labeled 0-16-0. 1 cup of calphos at 3% available P would be .5 cup of phosul at 6% available P to equal the same amount of available P. If I do the math by the label 0-16-0 vs 0-3-0 it would be .2 cup of phosul (rounded up) to equal the same amount. I'm new at this. Is it just labeling differences between different manufacturers? I should trust the 6% available P, correct?

Here's a picture of the phosul
Screenshot_20230217_222538_Home Depot.jpg

Thanks for any help.

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
Good question. The bottom numbers are what you go by. It doesn't make any difference because your plant can only take what it needs at any time. Out of all the nutrients in a container, most are not even used and are added for overkill.

Growdo Baggins

So what you're saying is if I don't get the conversion exactly right it's not going to matter much, bc the plant is only going to take what it needs. Unless I'm way off it's not going to matter much

Thcvhunter

Veteran
Go by available.
But, also keep in mind the total number (16) as that will linger and if you reuse soil, it could bit ya after 2 or 3 recycles.

When mixing soil, most people think of it as a super soil for peak flowering. And that will kick ya in the ass when sprouting and vegging.
Any time you amend and/or reamend, its best to add a little bit several times, rather than add it all all at once

KIS