What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Bubble hash drying residue?

farma_c

Hey there folks,

I'm new to making bubble hash, just got a set of bags a month ago, and on my second attempt, which has been drying a week, I noticed this fine white residue. Here are the details of my run and drying setup and a some pics, sorry it's not ideal, tried taking a few pics through a 30x loupe.

So it's a full spectrum run, frenchy style.i what's here is 45u-159u with dry cured bud which was in the freezer for a week or so before the run. The bud had been hanging in the barn since harvest.
I'm on spring water, which does have a little hardness to it, but there was no residue in the first batch I did.
Sieved the wet material onto parchment paper, which I set on trays in a food dehydrator in a cool room in the house (the dehydrator was not running!). Now the interesting thing is that the residue is only in the bottom couple of trays. Mostly in the bottom tray. I should have written down which run was which (I did 5 washes, first one a couple of minutes). Pretty sure the one with all this residue was the first wash I did.
The residue was originally quite evenly dispersed throughout the hash, in the pic its in a pile cause I folded the parchment and kinda shook it side to side.

Tried tasting it to see if it tasted salty or minerals, which it doesn't, but it does kind of have that stickiness on your teeth like weed does.

So any ideas what or why?

Attachments

• photo2031202.jpg
    photo2031202.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 58
  • photo2031204.jpg
    photo2031204.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 59

farma_c