What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Brewing fo Effect; Bourbon Barrel Barleywine w/ QWEtoH

ZEROorDIE

Hey all, this forum doesnt seem to get a lot of traffic and there isnt a whole lot out there done in the way serious beer brewing with cannabis, other than dry hopping with buds, or Bastard Brewers limited posts here on cider, wine and mead making. This is an on-going work in process and an extra place to store and share my thoughts as well as seek input and advice.

Background: I have been homebrewing for a couple years now and cultivating on and off for the better part of the last decade. I have a reasonable amount of experience in concentrates and extracts and would consider myself on an intermediate level in that respect, far from an expert. the idea of making a well crafted cannabis infused beer has always been a probing thought in the back of my mind and i have finally decided to go through with it.

Goals: Brew a strong ale w/ a significant amount of active cannabinoids, sans dirty plant flavors.
Develop Intermediate/advanced level Recipe with easy to follow instructions.

Approach: Brew an extraordinary beer, mostly in compliance with BJCP guidelines, with mind towards traditional beer flavor, but added effects of active cannabinoids. cannabis may be no more than a very mild secondary/tertiary flavor, which compliments the malt and hop profiles without making itself the center of attention.

Equipment: 3+gal SS kettle, flavorless/odorless detergent, Star-san or equivalent sanitizer, 2x 2+gal fermentation vessel and airlock/blow-off tube, various kitchen utensils.