What's new

Bad soil? Very low pH

Vancho

The thing is I already suffered from calcium lockup by low pH in two different crops. Using the same soil, one from my zone (Growmix multipro), a mix of perlite, vermiculte, compost and moss peat. Tested de pH: firs crop 4.6-4.8, second crop 4.2-4.6.
Humidity 40-50%, temp 23°C, medium-hard tap water, fertilized with Top-Crop (spanish brand). Lights COB leds white+full spectrum (600w per square meter). Strains from requiem seeds and royal queen seeds.
Also, and I don't know if its important, lights were off very often for multiple blackouts in the area. The timers got delayed as well.
I've been using this brand for almost 3 years and nothing happened before...
What do you all think?

AllStuff420

The problem with cannabis plants is that they can only absorb nutrients within a narrow pH window, which ranges from 6–7 when grown on soil. If the pH is too low or too high, the plant will not be able to absorb nutrients, even if they are there. As a result of "nutrient lockout," nutritional deficits are exacerbated. The pH of the substrate is crucial in plant nutrition because it directly affects nutrient availability. Substrate pH levels below 5.0 increase micronutrient availability, which can result in iron (Fe) or manganese (Mn) toxicity, or both.

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
No it's not bad soil you just have to raise the intake water to allow nutrient absorption. Use water that has a pH a little above 7.5 and it will stabilize. Don't feed the soil fertilizer because it is already charged with plenty of nutrients. The 7.5 pH water will raise the 4.6 to 6.2 after a few waterings. Keep checking it after every watering to monitor the results. If you feed a soil that has a fertilizer charge already in the soil it can drop the pH into the 4s. 😎

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
A few ways to buffer water pH, are by using cal-mag or a tiny amount of dolomite lime bubbled in the water, or tap water will raise the water pH. 😎

Creeperpark