What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Automated personal light dep box

Mechman

Okay guys, first time posting so bare with me. I have been growing for myself for about 20 years but had mixed results due to mold, bugs and stress i got very tired of paying for the lights with no decent product to show, no more! About 4 or 5 years ago i decided to turn the sun off instead of the lights on and built my "god box". IMG_1523.jpg

IMG_1524.jpg

IMG_1525.jpg

IMG_1526.jpg

IMG_1527.jpg

Big-Narstie

Wow you clever git lol bloody epic that mate.. With your engineering skills I'm surprised you wernt smashing it indoors but glad you didn't as that we wouldn't be seeing this now ����������

Don't know why you campflaged it when it's all closed up tho hehe

BC1

That's beautiful. What kind of mechanisms do you use to power and control timing? Its all AC based and uses normal timers? I have been working on a similar DC system for 3 years now hopefully get it running outdoors this season.

Congratulations that is the first working automated light dep on the internet!

PDX Dopesmoker

Thats a beautiful green box you hacked together, Mechman! Reminds me of the type of home engineering I used to see a lot of in Sky & Telescope Magazine about 30 years ago.
If you're looking for ideas for upgrades or to see how other people tackled similar problems, there might be a little bit of crossover between automated personal light dep boxes and some gear thats out there for automated home astronomical observatories.

Post plans, details, more pics, etc.