What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

hanuman's cheap and easy jungle tunnel

hanuman

Hi friends :wave:

I have been growing outdoors for quite a few years, and living in an area where the nights are quite humid come september/october time, I usually lose a few buds, if not more, to bud rot. Also I usually grow indoor strains outside, which doesn't help. Here's a very sorry sight of a Swt3 of which I lost about 80% due to bud rot a few years ago.

Anyway, I'm growing some Serious AK47 this year (there is a thread in the outdoor forum, at http://www.icmag.com/ic/showthread.php?t=97922&page=1&pp=15 ) and my generous benefactor who gave me the cuts told me it was quite sensitive to bud rot if left outside without any precautions.

So during the whole season, I've been thinking of a way to build some sort of tunnel or tent around my plant to keep them dry while budding. In my area, there is a lot of strawberry farming under plastic tunnels, but when I looked into it, I found that the prices were quite prohibitive. :bashhead:

Then, on another ganja forum, a grower had used PVC pipes to build a structure for his homemade greenhouse. That interested me, but after working out that I would need 6 meter (20 feet) lenghts for my arches, how the hell was I going to transport these in my 1.80 m trailer ? Then the other day, as I was talking about that to a friend, he pointed out the bamboos growing just outside my front door. Of course! why hadn't I thought about these before. I don't know the exact strain, but they are the giant kind, green ones, some of them reaching 8 meters high, i.e 26 feet!