What's new

Newbie hydroponics grow, need help getting started/selecting equipment!

SoEx

Hi all!

I'm excited to say I think I'm finally going to foray into the realm of growing, and I would like any advice I could come by. A friend of mine actually gave me a free 250W HPS light (as well as a timer) and ballast which is, I figure, a significant portion of the entry cost reduced.

First, I have a few questions. I'm new to the entire growing scene but I have read a few general things on the theory behind soil vs. hydroponics and I've read quite a few grow log threads. There are still some things I'd like to get answered, if anyone would be so kind as to help me:

1. Do I need a water pump AND an air pump/air stones, or do I just need an air pump/airstones? I read a few of the stickied threads and many of them mention a water pump, many only mention airstones. What gives?

2. Is it better to go with multiple 5 gallon buckets, or would it be best to try to use a big 15 gallon container, or something similar? 5 gallon buckets seemed nice due to their relative ease of use -- small, not too heavy, each plant in its own controlled system, and I could have three separate shots to make sure I get the nutrients and such properly done.

As I said, I have a 250W HPS, so this isn't going to be some massive grow or anything. I was thinking, would three plants be feasible using this, or would that be pushing it?

As far as enclosure, here's what I had in mind poorly done in paint:

2002569364408672326_rs.jpg

^^ basicly hat I had in mind. The thing would be in a closet and the black support structure would be PVC piping. I've built a few things with PVC pipes and the joints and they seem to hold up well. I was hoping to cover it with a felt tarp and have some kind of reflector on the insides of it, emergency blankets maybe? The thing above the box is the wooden shelf about 6' above the ground.