What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

DIY – 400w MH Ballast Kit!

DIY – 400w MH Ballast Kit!
(I am not responsible for your actions; this is for educational purposes only)

Initially I felt that this was quite an undertaking, because I have no previous electrical experience. Prior to a week ago I had never even considered assembling my own ballast, and after reading though a few helpful threads on here I was inspired.
I chose the MH because I already have a HPS, the 400w MH bulbs are available locally, and the bulbs are also a little cheaper than the HPS’. The ballast configuration is also a little simpler than the HPS’ because there’s no ignitor. My final reason is that I wanted to give my flowering plants a little more balanced spectrum. There are several good reasons to assemble a grow light from a kit, mainly cost and the overall learning experience.

Things the kit included:
(The kit cost aprox. $50 w/ shipping)
-400w MH ballast

-Capacitor

-Mogul Socket

-5 High Temperature Wire Connectors

Very clean kit, all of the wires were well labeled (thank god) and it included some decent instructions.

Other stuff you will need to buy:
-Electrical Box - 3.5 x 1.5 octagon ($1.50)
-Cover for Electrical Box - 3.5” round ($.70)
-3/8” Cable Connectors - Bag of 10 ($1.50)

-10’(14 gauge15amp) extension chord – male head only ($9)

-15’(14 gauge 15amp) extension chord – chopped in half ($11)

-High Temperature wire connectors – Box of 20 ($1.40)
-400w MH Bulb ($30)