What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

longevity/viability of resin

Papulz

lover of all things hashlike
Veteran
im somewhat new to the storage of hash, and im curious whats the absolute best way to store it? out of natural light and jarred i presume? Also how long is hash good for if stored properly. does pressing make a difference?

Note, sorry gang the slang in my parts was to say shish instead of hashish.

Last edited:

Pipedream

Proudly Growing My Own Since 1969
Veteran
Pressing hash with a small amount of heat, puts a smooth hard sealed surface on it. This will prevent almost all degredation of its quality. I've stored both buds and hash in sealed Mason jars in a cool dark area for years and enjoyed them when opened. Heat, light, and moisture are what you want to avoid when it comes to long-term storage. I can verify from personal experience that 5 years is no problem at all. I also know of others that claim to have stored it for much longer.

Last edited:

Kosmo

hahaha thats funny i was in Egypt last year and shisha is hookah tobacco... are u part of a Bedouin gang or something...

Last edited:

THCzr

i remember reading a story a long while ago about the discovery of a viking ship / shipwreck where there was some hashish found that was still potent, or had some remaining potency to it....

dunno....

/shrug

THC

Papulz

Veteran
is the pressing necessary to retain potency if the product is to be stored in an airtight/dark area? as i understand it the pressing creates a barrier to oxidation 1, and 2 to light... does it help in another way that im missing? excluding the variations in taste one can find