What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Correct pH - which is it?

Logos

First off, I am new to growing, so I have much to learn. One thing of critical importance I have thus far learned is the importance of correct pH in my soil-less grow. I know that when there is a plant problem to check the pH first. This is all well and good, but only if you know what the proper pH should be. My confusion lies in that some people on this forum state that the proper pH is 6.5, and it is at this level of acidity that most nutrient absorption occurs. Others are emphatic that the best pH level is 5.8. That’s a big difference. Also, how low can pH go before nut-lockout occurs? I would really like to settle this pH issue in my mind once and for all, and perhaps others would as well.

Many thanks to all who respond.

Logos.

G

Logos said:
First off, I am new to growing, so I have much to learn. One thing of critical importance I have thus far learned is the importance of correct pH in my soil-less grow. I know that when there is a plant problem to check the pH first. This is all well and good, but only if you know what the proper pH should be. My confusion lies in that some people on this forum state that the proper pH is 6.5, and it is at this level of acidity that most nutrient absorption occurs. Others are emphatic that the best pH level is 5.8. That’s a big difference. Also, how low can pH go before nut-lockout occurs? I would really like to settle this pH issue in my mind once and for all, and perhaps others would as well.

Many thanks to all who respond.

Logos.

thats because no one ever specifies hydro or soil, that is how you got 6.5 and 5.8....