What's new

Question about the Japanese Hemp landrace

Hi there, I was curious if the Japanese landrace hemp strain you guys have would be like an AUTOFLOWER?

If not I was thinking it could potentially be used for breeding long flowering strains that you desire to carry on the effects, without introducing radically different effects, and shorten the flowering time through a few generations. I am an amateur breeder, but what are your thoughts on that?

I know it would probably mess with the bud structure too, but it could be worth it if it works (for a personal stash at least)

CannaRed

Cannabinerd
I would think that if used in breeding it's offspring would be considerably lower in thc?

Then again after awhile a gem may be found?

That's a great point. You're probably right. I didn't consider that, I feel like I would be okay with a plant only spitting out 10% THC but still having lovely effects and flavor and aroma profiles. I'm a light weight anyways. I really want to try this with some Southeast Asian genetics I've acquired. Maybe I had ought to just go for it.

G

GatorGumbo

I agree that THC isn't everything. I've had some wicked THC potent strains I didn't fancy much at all because of the feeling of the high, and others that were less powerful by far but which I enjoyed a great deal more.

Now that I think about it, it's actually hard for me to think of a powerful strain that I'm really in love with. I'd say Panama Red is my favourite high, but it's a middleweight as far as THC. Maybe I'm just a middleweight THC smoker. :dunno:

Sunshineinabag

Nope not at all gumbo.......it's because the best cultivars we experiance have an even distribution of ALL compounds...not one particularly high one. When u find a well rounded cultivar with great profiles and susquiterpenes ......it's hitting all the bells and whistles sort of speak.....I'm thoroughly convinced high thc is a cash grab

armedoldhippy

Veteran