What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Freshwater algae

FGB

Anybody tried to use freshwater algae?

This is year I’m going to test some different variety on my crop and the next days I’ll post some photos about them (I’d like to recognize the type becouse I’m not an expert in this sector)

I know the excellent qualities of seaweed/kelp but I’d like to know if somebody tried to use some freshwater algae on the plants and it’s effect.

:thank you:

Booyah!

I'm curious about this as well. I've always tried to avoid algae, but use fermented plant juice so perhaps I'm missing out.

M

mrghost

algae is generally a good food for your soil life. If you can grow the algae yourself, go for it. It's always good to have control over the cultivation and add a little diversity to your mix.

Algae is good as foliar sprays (also aloe vera) while kelp seems to have some very special properties.

MJPassion

Observer
ICMag Donor
Veteran
I've added Klamath Lake Blue/Green algae to my mixes.
I'm not sure what/if it had any effect on the soil/soil life as it was a small amount used w no controls.

I figured that if it was good for me then it must be good for the soil life.

h.h.

Veteran
It contains a wee bit of nutritional information. There's probably better info out there.
It points out that blue/green algae is actually a bacteria.

aridbud

automeister
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Thx for the link.

For those too lazy to read:

Pros

Nitrogen fixation
grow in a mutualistic relationship with fungi

Contra

can consume so much of the water’s dissolved oxygen that fish and other aquatic organisms perish (in nitrogen rich environments)