Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Indoor Grows - Hydro > New RDWC grower, already growing algae?

Thread Title Search
Click for great deals at MB Ferts
Post Reply
New RDWC grower, already growing algae? Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2018, 04:10 PM #1
kbone123
Newbie

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
kbone123 is on a distinguished road
New RDWC grower, already growing algae?

I set up a single pot RDWC. I have a 15LPM air pump going to a disc-shaped airstone in the pot, but nothing in the reservoir. I have a 396GPH water pump pulling from the pot and bringing it back to the res. It is just sitting in the water to not make too much noise. There is a 2" PVC pipe connecting the two together with uniseals.

After getting it set up, I poured in 18 gallons (max) of tap water (don't have RO), did 1ml/g of Hydroguard, and brought pH from ~9.0 to ~5.9.

I set everything up on Tuesday 11/13 and by last night, Friday 11/16, I came home and smelled something along the lines of when a swimming pool is starting to grow algae. I open the res and sure enough see it being cloudy. The pH went from 5.9 to 7.0 and ppm from 187 to 210 in that time. I poured in another 3ml/g of Hydroguard in a panic, but it has only been 1 night since then, but I have not seen a positive change in that time. Unfortunately, I do not see a date on the bottle of Hydroguard (ordered new from Amazon this month) and so I cannot guarantee if it is still usable.


Currently, my plant is young enough that it hasn't even really rooted outside of the rockwool cube yet, so I have some time to fix this, but I want to be sure of how to fix it.


So what are my best options to make it go away and KEEP IT AWAY?

I'm thinking the following might help, but please don't let me skew your thoughts by writing mine:

1. Buy a bottle of Great White and add some of that.
2. Buy a bottle of H2O2 and add some of that.
3. Buy a second, smaller, air pump and stone just for the res.
4. Bleach (lightly) the system to clean it more thoroughly than I have and reset everything.

Please, any input might help.
kbone123 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 04:45 PM #2
kbone123
Newbie

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
kbone123 is on a distinguished road
I am also just now learning about Venturi for aeration. As I am very happy with the water pump and not happy with my air pump, is this perhaps a better way to go?

Get another 396GPH water pump, 2 Venturi tubes like this one, and just put one in the pot and one in the res.

Is aeration of the res my issue?
kbone123 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 05:00 PM #3
gaiusmarius
Senior Member


gaiusmarius's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18,120
gaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivor
does the rez have an light leaks, black tanks have less problems with algae. a bit of cloudiness can happen when you are mixing certain nutrients, but it should clear up when it's well mixed up.
gaiusmarius is online now Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-17-2018, 05:20 PM #4
kbone123
Newbie

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
kbone123 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaiusmarius View Post
does the rez have an light leaks, black tanks have less problems with algae. a bit of cloudiness can happen when you are mixing certain nutrients, but it should clear up when it's well mixed up.
Hey thanks for the reply!

The res tote is one of those black totes from the department store with the yellow top. Yellow top would allow for light to get in, but the room itself is never really lit that well to begin with. I can certainly put something on the lid to prevent further light leaks, but I don't believe that is quite the issue here.

In terms of nutes, none have been added yet. Just Hydroguard and pH down.

I'm not home right now, but I put the hose pumping water back into the res in a way that at least let it kind of act as a waterfall of sorts to see if it helps. I also ordered the Venturi injector from eBay and will just connect it to that very same line just as a $5 test of new aeration method.
kbone123 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 07:25 PM #5
gaiusmarius
Senior Member


gaiusmarius's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18,120
gaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivor
well the pumps and air will be good for sure, but algae can't live without light, so you just need to make the rez inside dark and that should stop algae being able to grow.
gaiusmarius is online now Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-17-2018, 07:38 PM #6
Hydro8
Member

Hydro8's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 182
Hydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of light
You should put an air stone in your res.
Hydro8 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 07:47 PM #7
kbone123
Newbie

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
kbone123 is on a distinguished road
Thank you both for your input.

Alright, I will cover the lid with aluminum foil later and I will try the Venturi aerator in the rez. The pot inside the tent is already covered and should be good to go in regards to light.

However, am I right in assuming that Hydroguard is supposed to also be taking care of this? Isn't that the whole point? I'm thinking that if it isn't taking care of it, I should replace it. Am I correct on this or is my Hydroguard probably fine?
kbone123 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 08:06 PM #8
Hydro8
Member

Hydro8's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 182
Hydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of lightHydro8 is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbone123 View Post
However, am I right in assuming that Hydroguard is supposed to also be taking care of this?
Stuff like algae and pythium are very difficult to kill if they have the conditions to grow in. Like weeds in an empty lot, they will keep coming back if their is bare dirt to grow in. If you have pockets of stagnant water in your system you will get slime.
Hydro8 is offline Quote


Old 11-17-2018, 08:14 PM #9
gaiusmarius
Senior Member


gaiusmarius's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18,120
gaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivorgaiusmarius is a survivor
also once the algae is growing, you need to change the water out and scrub the tank inside, then have it dark add the air stone and you'll be good.
gaiusmarius is online now Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-17-2018, 08:29 PM #10
kbone123
Newbie

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
kbone123 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydro8 View Post
Stuff like algae and pythium are very difficult to kill if they have the conditions to grow in. Like weeds in an empty lot, they will keep coming back if their is bare dirt to grow in. If you have pockets of stagnant water in your system you will get slime.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaiusmarius View Post
also once the algae is growing, you need to change the water out and scrub the tank inside, then have it dark add the air stone and you'll be good.
Alright I can definitely replace the water and scrub the tubs down again (I did do it after setting it up).
kbone123 is offline Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:55 PM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.