What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Would ya just look at that.

Hey water growers. Im a dirt grower trying DWC for the first time. From a few youtube videos I got enough information to pop a GG4 seed in distilled water. Once the tap was exposed a couple days later I put it in a rockwool cube and collected and washed round river rock to lock the cube in the basket. I got my ph between 5.5 and 6.5 and the little start got bigger. Since Im a noob to dwc I didnt put any food in the water for 2 plus weeks, but when I did the plant took off.

20171205_154206_1080x1080.jpg

20180302_121652_1080x1080.jpg

And then disaster...

20180304_104219_1080x1080.jpg

Picture above is the day after I changed reservoir water. My PH meter was malfunctioning and I ended up giving them 350ppm water PH 3.5! In just one day the roots turned to brown and two days later the roots were mush. I treated the top like a clone and cut all the big fan leaves to promote new root growth and I pulled off all the mushy roots. Fresh water, no nutes, and I foliar sprayed the leaves since the old roots were pretty much gone.

And here is the Gorilla 8 days later... Making a nice comeback. I just gotta say; soil is much more forgiving than DWC, but DWC if run Perfect grows quicker than soil and I have seen very impressive harvests from DWC.

20180314_122756_1612x907.jpg

I wonder why so much hydro tastes like stagnant water and moldy carpet?