What's new

Outdoor growing without canopy at 2500' elevation?

AyoRiver

I am completely new to growing cannabis, though I have grown hops and various other vegetation for several years.
I am wondering if anyone can offer some advice on growing at 2500' elevation without a canopy?
The grow site is located in Ashland, OR with silty loam soil, though I think I will be potting the plants on pallets with soil from an outside source that is already amended and next season after I am more proficient in growing, plant directly into the ground possibly.
Will 2500' in elevation be too cold without a canopy? Or, what are the benefits of adding the cost of a canopy? I know a lot of people are obviously growing at higher elevations in colorado and 2500' is not much to compare to. Any advice about higher outdoor growing would be appreciated!

Hello AyoRiver, I wouldn't be concerned about the elevation! But sounds like your concerns are with low temps. I grow at 8000' and do use a cheap greenhouse for privacy and for the colder temps late summer, early fall. Cannabis is a very hearty plant and can withstand mild freezes. What are the temps in your neck of the woods?

russjcan

Advantages of a screenhouse setup are elimination of flying insects that like to lay eggs in your flowers and some control over the weather. Hard rain is reduced to a mist. Sleet or hail is caught before it hits the plants. Temperature is warmer and wind is reduced. Smell is dispersed up instead of out so neighbors aren't impacted. I'm in a suburban neighborhood in the San Joaquin Valley and have used this setup for years with minimal problems. When I do release ladybugs they have to stay.