What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Sleeves!

FishmanK

This is a post I put up several years ago on another forum ~ I wanted to share
Happy 2016 Season to all!
(Hi & Good Luck
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Revolutionary9!)[/FONT]

An inexpensive and efficient way to vegg your starts to prep them for outdoor growing

I wanted to share this method I've been using for a few years now. I get starts in rockwool blocks from other growers who are mostly working indoors, and plant them with this method in wax-paper container blanks manufatured to hold milk, juice or other liquids. These 1/2 gallon container blanks (hereafter referred to as "sleeves") have not yet been fully prepped for use as milk or juice containers. They are available for purchase by the case in lots of 144 sleeves.

ic
sleeve1.jpg

I use duct tape to cover the hole where the screw cap would be mounted if they were used for juice. Laying them out in a line and using one piece of tape then slicing with a carpet knife to separate them is fast and gives a good surface to use for labelling w a sharpie pen.

The bottom folds in and a small tab catches and holds it closed.

sleeve3.jpg

getting the fold just right helps the sleeve stand straight.

sleeve4.jpg

@ the cost of $23 per gross (144 sleeves) gives a cost per sleeve of around 16¢ per sleeve!

UPDATE 2016 season!
Caes now over 300 sleeves for just over $20

Clones can be vegged out to more than 2 feet tall before the roots start to get "bound". This can give an outdoor grower a head-start on the season with a small greenhouse or a sunporch, especially if, like I do you have such a space at the coast.

sleeve5.jpg