What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

~ThE pRoMiX tHrEaD~

Phases

~The Promix Thread~

I have been using promix for a few years now and along the way I have learned a few things that I would like to share. While I specifically use the term "Promix" I think that this information can apply to other similar mediums like sunshine mix and other peat based mixes.

Although I am making the switch to coco I want to put up some of what I have learned over the years for anyone who is growing in straight promix. There doesn't seem to be any threads that are specifically for promix growers - so I thought I would create a promix thread. Hopefully this can help anyone who plans on growing in promix or is currently having some trouble with it.

I will try to split this up into different sections so it is easier to read and follow.

1.Medium
The type of promix I have used has always been the promix HP with mycroiza.
This mix has perlite, dolomite lime added as well. So throughout this thread when I am referring to promix it will be the promix HP.
First off is mixing up your promix. For seedlings I usually use straight Promix (PM) and might add some Earth Worm Castings (EWC). I veg in oasis cubes and once I got good roots I transplant into solo cups of PM. For the first few week I find that all that's needed is some rapid start (GH) and some superthrive. Other than that just straight water that I ph to around 6. Promix is a spikes mix and the ph should be around 5.8-6.2. However I will get to that a bit later.
So for clones and seedlings I just use the mix straight out of the bag.