What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How much to water coco after transplant?

Just transplanted 3 clones from solo cups to 2gal pots. Trying to find out how much I should water. This is my first run so I have zero experience and some basic knowledge. In my research I've heard:

A. You can't really overwater coco.

and

B. After transplant let the coco dry a bit as to encourage the roots to seek out water and grow into new environment (this kind of makes sense)

MicroRoy

I give a good watering. I at times dunk the entire pot in water let it sink up to the top then lift and let it run out.

I do half cocco half Perlite.

As the water goes out the bottom it pulls some air into the top.

MickFoster

I saturate the coco, I never let it dry out. I start in solo cups, then to a 44 oz. container and finally into a two gallon bucket.

MicroRoy

B. After transplant let the coco dry a bit as to encourage the roots to seek out water and grow into new environment (this kind of makes sense)
Yes if it is watered well In my experience as the plant uses the water around the root ball fresh water is pulled in and the roots start to reach out. Then the top of the soil starts to dry water starts to wick up from the bottom and the roots start reaching down.

Yes if it is watered well In my experience as the plant uses the water around the root ball fresh water is pulled in and the roots start to reach out. Then the top of the soil starts to dry water starts to wick up from the bottom and the roots start reaching down.

Excellent. Makes sense, thanks for confirming!

MicroRoy

I'm in a 60/40 coco/perlite mix right now. do you generally water daily?