What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Lights for Seedlings

theclearspot

Ok Im not a complete beginner but im reading a lot of conflicting info on the suitable lighting for seedlings just germinated. Im planning to put them eventually into the Greenhouse.
So some recommend T5 flourescent tubes, others say put them on the windowsill, others say HID Metal Halide lamps. I usually use normal household bulbs these are 69W energy saving types.
So what do people use for their seedlings? thanks in advance...:tiphat:

Snook

Still Learning
Veteran
been using T5s for years but am contemplating LEDs.

EDIT: although I currently have a couple out on the back porch (first time)

stoned-trout

if it smells like fish
Veteran
whatever you want to use..hid, floros,cfl whatever....they all work...yeehaw..I have used them all at times...don't use regular incandescent bulbs...

theclearspot

Ok guys thanks. I have bought a small T5 flourescent tube its 13W and I have it about 10cm above the seedlings. See how it goes. Probably do just as well on the windowsill but cant guarantee sunny days where I am ...

Snook

Still Learning
Veteran
Ok guys thanks. I have bought a small T5 flourescent tube its 13W and I have it about 10cm above the seedlings. See how it goes. Probably do just as well on the windowsill but cant guarantee sunny days where I am ...

they will soon need some sleep, do you have a timer for night time (18 on, 6 off)?

symbiote420

Veteran