What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

New and do not know where to begin.

Mac89

I am new to growing and have an idea what i want but do not know how to begin. First off I want to do 9 plants or so and do not know how big of an area I need. I know I want to grow indoor, but do not know whether I should do soil or hydro. I have seen grow tents that look great but i am not sure if they are worth it. Any help would be great, thank you, Mac

noobs1988

wellfirst of all... if your only using one outlet/circuit, youll only have enough juice to maybe run 600w... if your have some wiring skills, you could run more power... but if you decide to run 600w, then I would say 3x3 or 4x3 or 4x4. then youll have to decide to vent your heat out or not. if you don't, youll use more ac power and need good circulation. and soil is more forgiving than hydro but coco seems to be the recommend beginner medium. Check out the coco section of the forums. I personally didn't buy a tent, but I think they could be worth it if you didn't want to deal with all the BS of building a room. instead I took the money for my tent and built a false hidden closet (sealed). and youll need to decided if your going to run co2 or not. if you use window unit ac, minght need a humidifier. it really all depends on your budget, space, and how concealed you need it to be. well hope that gets you started on your brain storming ideas.

noobs1988

and as far as the tents, go to youtube and watch some customer reviews of grow tents... there on there, ive seen them. a lot of people talk about cheaply made tents so might want to do some research on them.

Mac89