What's new

Hynoaspis miles bug almost had me fooled.....

SirSteely

So, Im a little embarrassed but fuck it , I AM a newbie grower.
This is what happened.......

My first grow I used nothing but neem and sticky strips for pest control, and had a pretty decent fungus gnat infestation. Towards the end of my first grow my soil became HEAVILY infested with what I thought were Root Aphids(RA). I swear I thought my first grow was doomed, there were thousands of crawlies. I harvested a good 10~14 early on 3 plants.

I moved, rebuilt, nuked everything with DrDoom, and started over.

Im 8 weeks into new setup. I have 5 month old, from seed, future (hopeful)moms in my veg area.(seemyjournal) In my bloom tent I have one large HerojuanaOG from clone at day 30 of 12/12.
Day 26 I notice paling leaves starting at top of plant.Day 27 I see about 4 fungus gnat fliers and reapply Mosquito Dunk drench.Day 28 I see several of what I think are RAs on the top of my soil, and I think Im doomed again. When I search my veg area they are in that soil also. I checked new rental listings.. & I read every RA forum in etherspace.
Its then that I find a few threads about the Hynoapsis miles bug, a predator bug that eats fungus gnat larvae. I realize that the hynoaspis miles looks a hell of a lot like a juvenile RA. i grab my x30 scope and get a GOOD look. I 100% do NOT have RAs, they are hynoaspis for sure. I never had RAs in my first grow either. I realized I never saw what would of been an adult or a flier RA, ever. I feel like a dweeb.Oh the paling leaves, not hungry for N. It was light bleaching because I had my 600w a little too close...

These pics don't do justice to the detail I saw them in. It is very easy to think the hairs on a hynoaspis are the " twin tailpipes " of a RA juvenile...

Dont be fooled like I was.One of the telltale differences is that a hynoaspis miles bug has an elongated head/proboscis., whereas the RA has a flatter head.