What's new

Are people still getting root aphids from coco?

I know it was rampant about a year or two ago. I'm curious if the problem has worked itself out and if not, how many of you are still using Bayer or an equivalent?

If you guys are into coco prepping then there is a simple step that should be added to ensure that pests do not originate from your medium.

citifield

I've been using coco for the last 18 months never got root aphids out of a bag of coco. I only use nutrifield coco, ok when my pallets empty and I'm in a pinch ill grab some
Canna even though its over priced.

miscbrah3284

Veteran
i buy all my coco in brick form but root aphids were brought in on dispensary clones and ive had 100% success with Bayer fruit and vegetable.....

never had a problem with pests in the coco brix but i still hear problems buying bags of soil and bags of coco

BudToker

Veteran
I have have used (mostly) Canna brand coco coir for many years now and I have never had root aphids. :)

Good Luck,

-BT :smokeit:

dansbuds

Retired from the workforce Bullshit
ICMag Donor
Veteran
I haven't had Aphids sense i switched to coco !!! I was getting them more when i used FF crap soils .

nlr433

I'm using the gold label 80-20 hydroton coco mix, and just TODAY found aphids in TWO different gardens, for the first time ever. ahhhhhh! came on here to research dealing with them.

I'm glad people aren't getting them as bad as they used to. Still there are cases here and there. The stupid things are really tough, but they can't hide from me.

If you can, either finish flowering or clear your grow and start over. Next, get a big ass deep pan from Wally World or whatever, set your oven for 220, and bake away for 90 minutes. After 90 minutes I dump my coco directly into my smart pots and start saturating with cool water.