What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Question about carbon scrubbers?

Icu 812

Hello everyone.long time lurker here. Im kinda new to the grow scene. not very many successful attempts. But on to my question about the scrubber and if this is in the wrong area i am sorry forum mods. Was wondering if a bigger surface area on a scrubber would cause less drag on a fan rather then trying to draw all the air through a tiny area causing resistance? if anyone has a better knowledge of air flow and such then me input would be greatly appreciated. because i dont deal with air flow much as a welder. Thank you in advance

S

shuswap

it all depend on how you are using the filter,for exhaust or to just scrub a room,can filters have a cfm rating on the side of each can,when scrubbing a room they recomend twice the cfm basically keeping the odor in the room thinner then running it slowly thru a exhaust fan,hope that helps

Fly by Night

Like a Wing
Veteran
Purchase properly matched fan/filter combos for maximum odor control ... I wouldn't overcomplicate it homie. Peace!

Icu 812

Thank you both for your responses. I should have been a little more specific in my first post. I was talking more on the lines of a DIY carbon filter. Scrubber was not the best choice of words 2 different things i think. Example of of what I'm talking about would be using a bathroom fan to pull through the carbon. If the surface area of carbon was built out larger then the original area. For use of more carbon. Will it restrict airflow through the fan more then original size or would it increase to airflow by giving the air more area to be pulled from?

habeeb