What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Growing up in the tops of trees.

greenwithenvy

Veteran
I have no experience with this but would like to learn alot more about it. Are there any treads here about Growing in trees? Ive searched a little bit but couldnt find anything. Thanks GWE

M

MummyCat

I like to use 5 gallon buckets because they have a sweet handle for hanging them, and I like to hang them in buckeye trees because they match the foliage well during veg and buckeye's drop there leaves when its time to bud. good luck :)

greenwithenvy

Veteran
Come on Guys I know more than one person is growing in trees. Thanks Mummy. I plan on using 5 gallon buckets as well. Did you water them somehow? or Just let them be. I was thinking 1/4 in black tubing and winding it down the tree. Im thinking maybe theres a battery powered pump to shoot nutes it up the tubing to the bucket? Im also gonna be right next to the water so easy access to that. Thanks

DTFuqua

Find some green cordage and lower them down for watering. Or maybe hide a camo colored (DIY paint the tubing) tubing where you could get to it for watering. Use those gel pellets to hold moisture longer for fewer waterings. Also realize you would need to blow through the lines to make sure all you nutrients and water went to the plants and none is available to run out the bottom end to show a wet spot where there shouldn't be any and lead to the likely discovery of your buckets.

niggle

Look up water polymers they will help hold water, and wrap the buckets in burlap and add mulch, the problems with tree top is watering.

OhighO

This seems like a major pia to do for a whole season.