What's new

Help me make the switch to coco!

Hello all,

I’m a new grower, and I’m about 2 months into the start of my perpetual medical grow. I’m a newbie but am obsessive about researching and learning – I read for a year before spending a few months building my room. I originally set it up to run DWC SCROG tubs but am getting a little tired of constant daily adjustments and unpredictable pH swings.

Setup:
~3’x4’ veg box
9’x5’x7’ high flowering box with a 1000w HPS on each end of it, split into 2 ~4x5 halves
Here’s a pic of my 4x (really 3x + a ridiculously tiny 10” runt) Hogsbreath at day 14 of flower:

picture.php

You can see my smaller veg frame butted up against an extender. Not ideal, but it works for my space and plant number constraints.

I’ve been doing some reading and am quite interested in switching to a coco setup with Blumat auto-waterers to give me less stress and allow me to actually leave my grow alone for more than 24 hours.

Day 6 for PPP clones in 1" rockwool cubes in DWC tub with screen attached:

picture.php

So—How to best switch to coco? Is there a good reason to use 4 separate pots or can I just use my existing tub, fill with coco and use it with the same screen attached? I plan on only running one strain per side of the flowering box so mixed nutrient and flush needs shouldn’t be an issue.

I'd love any input and guidance here. I assume that if I were to go that route, I would start off the clones in smaller pots before just putting them into the big tub?

Thanks for any help, and happy growing!

iS

opt1c

Veteran
use separate pots if you switch; sounds like u have more reading to do ;) it'll be best to handwater your coco with a drain to waste setup

if you're having issues with your dwc ph swings and whatnot look into dutch master gold nutes; i've ran em in dwc before and they're very stable