What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

What is/how to perform decarboxylation & isomerization?

dope_roor

I'm trying to figure out exactly how decarboxylation and isomerization of THC occurs and what methods can be employed to do so.

I have some some background organic chemistry knowledge and understand that decarboxylation of marijuana is the conversion of THCA into THC, THCA being psychoinactive whereas THC is. On a molecular level, it's the removal of a COOH group from the THC molecule, which can be done under conditions of high heat or presence of a strong base.

I've read that perhaps the process of curing buds is actually a slow decarboxylation process and thus the increasing of potency we generally observe.

Based on this, it's reasonable to assume that applying heat increases the potency of marijuana. And there's evidence of this in making cannabutter from schwag or whipping up BHO over heat or the heat pressing of kief into hash. some sort of increase in potency from the original product.

Is it not then also plausible that washing or soaking the bud in an alkaline (basic pH >7) should also cause decarboxylation? Perhaps a more thorough decarboxylation than whipping over heat? And, as long as the solution is polar, the THC should not be affected?

The implications of this are perhaps washing our buds in an alkaline solution before performing our preferred method of extraction could increase the end potency of the extract?