What's new

First Micro (hydro pc)

B420

Alright so, This is my first attempt at a micro grow of any kind. I am using an old gateway tower that I've had laying around for that last 10yrs or so. For lighting I am using 4 26w 6500K CFLs mounted horizontally and incased in a cooltube area using plexi glass and sealed with weather-stripping. I am cooling the cooltube area with a Thermaltake 80mm fan. The other fan is for the grow area and is the fan that came with the case long ago, Superred CHA9212CB-A 31.1~54.72 CFM. Still got some work before it is finished it looks kinda rough right now but will come together by tomorrow night. Here are some pics:

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

B420

I am waiting on a mix of seeds from a friend, I know for sure though that I will run a cross that was called pkaksage.

ScrubNinja

Grow like nobody is watching
Veteran
Really nice case man. I hope mine can be that professional when I build it. Do you think the glass could be too far away from the lights? I had an idea to put mine quite close, like a quarter inch away.

NukaCola

B420,

Is the glass necessarily with a cfl's? Wouldn't you lose some light penetration with the glass installed?

B420

ScrubNinja - Thanks for the compliment. I am sure that the plexi could be closer to the lights, I just ended up putting it there because the case had some tabs already in place to rest it on.

UniXx - Thanks I hope it does actually go well. This is my first attempt at a micro environment so hopefully I can get the hang of it quickly.

NukaCola - I am not sure that it is necessary and while I probably do lose some of the quality in the lights to the plexiglas, I think that the pros of a separate area solely dedicated to the lights and cooling of that area outweighs the cons of the reduced light penetration and definitely will make environmental control easier to handle.

jonkanoo - Thanks for checking this out.

B420