Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Grow It! > Growers Forums > Growroom Designs & Equipment > Lumatek ballast problems

Thread Title Search    
Find out more about Green Gator Filters
Post Reply
 Lumatek ballast problems Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 08:24 PM   #1
Darkstarlive
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lumatek ballast problems

Has anyone else had any problems with Lumatek ballast?
A Couple weeks ago I had a 1000w/120v ballast blowout and it had melted the power cord socket and today I had the same thing happen with a 600w/120v ballast. They were both on their own outlet so no overloading was going on I just find it strange it would happen to 2 ballast that were about 7 months old.
anyone else have this happen?

Peace...
  Quote


Old 01-21-2009, 03:16 AM   #2
zafira-sri
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 88
zafira-sri will become famous soon enough
i have 2 400w 240v lumatek ballast
the other day i pulled the plugs out 2 take some pictures when i pluged them back in again 1 would not come so i put a new bulb in and its working ok now never checked the grolux blub i took out but it looked ok


zafira
zafira-sri jest offline   Quote


Old 01-21-2009, 09:02 AM   #3
BeeBee
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 83
BeeBee is on a distinguished road
If you are talking about the socket in the ballast, it sounds like the cord was not fully inserted (or there was dirt in the socket). If the cord is not firmly inserted, and not making very good contact with the male prongs, there will be heat generated due to resistance--it would cause the melting. Make sure the cords are out of the way, and, if they aren't a tight fit, put a brick on the cord so they can't become dislodged.

The 1000 watt at 110 volts is using almost 10 amps--that's quite a bit of current, similar to an electric heater or toaster oven.
BeeBee jest offline   Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 05:29 AM   #4
PonicalChillin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I believe Lumatek had issues with connectivity problems with the fused removable power cord lumateks - definately the 1000w 120v units.

They've since hardwired the power cords and did away with the fuse in favor of a reset button.

If you have a 1000w 120v Lumatek with a detachable power..expect it to melt around the fuse power input area. Its almost guaranteed in due time.

--

There is a reason the biggest player in the game (General Electric) never created a 1000w 120v electronic ballast. They claim it cannot currently be done - and will eventually fail in short time

--

If anyone is planning to run a 1000w electronic ballast I urge you to go 240v. They ARE much safer. Its my opinion that no 1000w lights SHOULD be ran at 120v. Its just to close (amps) to the breaking point of many components...be it interal components, switches, timers. etc.


stay safe
peace
  Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 10:39 AM   #5
Da Turps
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Da Turps is on a distinguished road
I heard from someone who knows what he's talking about that the lumatek 1k ballasts aren't quite there yet. I've also heard many reports of problems with these. I know of a few users on IC here that have tremendous success with the Galaxy brand, these seem to be superior to Lumatek as far as the digital ballasts go. I personally don't feel that ANY digital ballast is quite there yet and so I am will be sticking to ye good olde magnetic. A quality sun systems unit is pretty efficient and doesn't make any noise.
Just my .02. I wish you the best in getting your systems up and running again.

Peace,
DT
Da Turps jest offline   Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 03:07 PM   #6
Darkstarlive
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
PonicalChillin,

That's exactly what I'm talking about. I've had other lumateks that I've had no problems with it seems that the latest revisions in the past 8 months are the ones that are melting the power cord and socket. I think whats happening is the power is bypassing the fuse and drawing too much power and instead of the fuse popping it gets too hot and melts the socket and power cord. Now that I think of it when my 1000w ballast died it had started to melt my timer too. I'm lucky it didn't start a fire!! I have some of the newer one with the hardwired power cords and a reset button instead of a removable fuse holder.

Thanks for stopping in and speaking to the subject.

Peace..
  Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 07:54 AM   #7
PonicalChillin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I honestly cannot believe there havn't been any serious house fires from these 1k 120v units. I mean why in the hell doesnt the fuse just blow..instead these things just melt the entire fuse / power input area.

Lumatek (and/or) the Lumatek distributors really should do a nationwide recall on these. It just seems like something like this could be a huge lawsuit had not everyone and their brother be growin cannabis...and I think they know this.

EDIT - my 600w 240v Lumateks are the best money I've ever spent..tiny and barely get warm. This is strictly a 120v 1k issue..other then that I think lumateks are awesome.

Last edited by PonicalChillin; 01-23-2009 at 07:56 AM..
  Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 09:21 AM   #8
badugi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wow good to hear about the (lack of) testing & quality control on these things. Glad I didn't invest in 'em this go around.

I've had a pair of 600w/120v's for a while, they worked flawlessly for me.
  Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 11:52 AM   #9
mojojojo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 169
mojojojo will become famous soon enough
had two 1000 watters go out on me one would burn the fuse every time i got a new one and lumatec took it back the the other one would fire up for about a second then die.
lumatec took it back after they tested it out i have two 600 watt lumatecs that work fine but i would not buy anything they make again. ruined a few grows
__________________
i love INDICA! yeah i said it :-)
mojojojo jest offline   Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 02:47 PM   #10
Darkstarlive
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When the 1000w ballast went I found it dead and only after calling Lumatek and they suggested checking the fuse did I find it had melted the fuse holder and socket. I just happened to be in the room testing some new Sunpulse Bulbs that I heard crackling from my 600w ballast and I unplugged it and when I treid to pull out the power cord from the ballast it wouldn't come out easy and when I finally got it out one of the wires from inside the ballast came out melted to the power cord. Like it mentioned in one of the previous post, why didn't the fuse blow? There was an obvious problem with too much power being drawn that it melted the that area and the fuse should have popped.

Yeah, if it weren't for what people are using these ballast for they would demand a recall..lol
Peace...
  Quote


Old 01-24-2009, 09:57 PM   #11
B00st3d
Puff Puff Pass
 
B00st3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Imagination Land
Posts: 454
B00st3d will become famous soon enough
Get Galaxy ballasts, they are by far the best out. Do the research and you will see for yourself. Galaxy is the only brand that can run all brands of bulbs without blowing them not to mention way less if any harmonic resonance at all compared to the other brands. I have five 600's and a 400 from them. I used to own future brites and all but one failed on me within 6 months of use. I usually run my lights at 240v with one of those boxes that plugs into a dryer outlet. Its safe and reliable. I love my galaxies and will never own any other brand ever again. Good luck and stay safe
B00st3d jest offline   Quote


Old 01-24-2009, 10:00 PM   #12
CLDBD
Weed Murderer
 
CLDBD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 158
CLDBD will become famous soon enough
Sounds a little scary.
CLDBD jest offline   Quote


Old 01-25-2009, 03:41 PM   #13
jocat
green fire
 
jocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 180
jocat is on a distinguished road
iv'e been running two 600w lumateks burning hortilux bulbs, for 9 months without any trouble, added a 220v 1000w 2 months ago and have had no proplems, one thing i like about the digis is that when power goes out and comes back on the ballest doesn't fire for a few minutes, saves the bulbs. the magnetic ballest will try to start the hot bulb and that's not good for your $bulbs. sorry to hear of your troubles, if mine started acting up it would get the boot and i would go back to magnetic. buds good/fire bad jc
jocat jest offline   Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Advertise on ICMag - Click for more info

This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.