What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Question about Feminized seeds

Therealzemi

Ive been growing indoors for 3 years now, and if there is one thing i have learned, it is that the listed flowering times is never enough in a standard low tech HPS grow (600 watt). Ive grown 5 different strains so far, and they all tend to start shooting bananas when they are 1-2 weeks longer in to flowering than listed. Not all the plants, but perhaps 10% of them. So my question is. Are Femi seeds more prone to going hermi in very late flowering than normal seeds?
Thanks for reading :tiphat:

Easy7

Veteran
2 things first off

1; bananas from over ripe cannabis are something soma said a time ago that is female seed making pollen.

2; fems in my experience are more prone to pushing out male parts indoors. Regs in my experience are not as sensitive

Therealzemi

It's getting a bit frustrating. I want to harvest when the colour of the oil is right. But it seams damn near impossible to achieve without getting bananas. I guess i need to seriously consider regular seeds in the future. Even with the extra work that comes with it.

justanotherbozo

Veteran
yeah, i would say no, if the breeder knows what he is doing and is smart enough to stress all new candidates to attempt to cause hermies and then only femminizes those plants he can't stress into hermaphrodites then hermies in those beans should be very rare.

...sadly we have too many amateurs making femmed beans out of anything that they like or anything with a connection to a famous name strain.