What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Help with too many tops for Half whiskey barrel grow

thedudefresco

Hi.

I’ve grown outdoors for a few years but this is my first year growing in a container rather than in the ground.

This plant has been growing since feb but started to flower in April due to a mismanaged gas lantern routine.

In may it started revegging. I stripped it, and it came back with a vengeance.

There are too many tops though for the container I fear.

Should I remove some?

Attachments

• C1ADB2FB-AC44-41C2-B6D0-A11991B6050A.jpg
    C1ADB2FB-AC44-41C2-B6D0-A11991B6050A.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 79

LizardMan

I would let it go and see how it manages, clean the under canopy when flower hits and just keep it watered and fertilized well!

green-genes77

Veteran
I would LST it outward to open up the middle and, as suggested above, clean up the bottoms early in flower thoroughly, leaving only the infrastructure for colas.

Yes this will ultimately give you more tops but my first inclination in looking at that setup is that you should be looking more at making those many tops productive rather than concentrating growth into a smaller number of shoots. I would advise you lean into it, keep all of the healthy/vigorous tops, and either LST outward or supercrop to get more light into the center of the plant.

Just make sure you're prepared to feed enough to support all that growth, as LizardMan said.

dirty-joe

Hi.

There are too many tops though for the container I fear.

Should I remove some?

I agree with your fear, and yes you should remove some, probably many.