Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Indoor Grows - Hydro > Robot's room upgrade

Thread Title Search
Click for great deals at MB Ferts
Post Reply
Robot's room upgrade Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2018, 11:18 PM #41
RockinRobot
Member

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 824
RockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Howlett View Post
Nice perpetual setup man. Nice yield too for 600's.

What height are your lights at? Looks like you could lower them a bit for more dense buds, especially if they're air-cooled. I'd say no more than 12" from the tops.

Either way keep rockin'
Ceiling height is just under 8' but with the rope light hangars the Max height for the lights is about 7'.

They are usually about 18" from the canopy. Any closer and I don't get coverage on the outside. Cheap hoods by best I could afford. Planning to slowly switch out to 630w CMH as I can afford to replace.

Buds are tight and hard , especially for a heavy sativa leaning plant.

Only issue I have with the room now is humidity. With 2 lights it's perfect but when all 3 are running I'm having a hard time keeping humidity above 40%. Never thought I would need a humidifier in Florida.
RockinRobot is offline Quote


Old 04-28-2018, 11:44 AM #42
James Howlett
Member

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 86
James Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enough
Ah, I see you need the extra coverage.

I've seen and heard good things about the 630 CMH. Seems like a good choice for your space.

40% is a bit low. Are you're lights ducted in a closed loop? Or are you pulling air from inside the room and venting it out?
James Howlett is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2018, 01:42 PM #43
RockinRobot
Member

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 824
RockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Howlett View Post
Ah, I see you need the extra coverage.

I've seen and heard good things about the 630 CMH. Seems like a good choice for your space.

40% is a bit low. Are you're lights ducted in a closed loop? Or are you pulling air from inside the room and venting it out?
The lights are currently ducted but not outside just recirculating though the carbon filter, so all the heat is being removed by the AC.. Room is sealed running CO2. Hence the low humidity. If I wasn't running CO2 I would be fine. I'm currently in the process of removing the glass from the reflectors as each bay empties. Should give better light without the glass. Just a pain to remove them with a crop underneath. I already removed it from the Bay I just harvested so that bay already has better light.
RockinRobot is offline Quote


Old 04-28-2018, 07:32 PM #44
James Howlett
Member

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 86
James Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enough
I've never heard of CO2 reducing RH before. Sealed rooms typically have higher RH levels since there's no air exchange. I think pulling your room air through the hoods may be drying out the air.

If your AC can handle it, open hoods is the way to go.

I don't see any wall fans in your pics. Maybe on the opposite wall?
James Howlett is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2018, 09:49 PM #45
RockinRobot
Member

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 824
RockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Howlett View Post
I've never heard of CO2 reducing RH before. Sealed rooms typically have higher RH levels since there's no air exchange. I think pulling your room air through the hoods may be drying out the air.

If your AC can handle it, open hoods is the way to go.

I don't see any wall fans in your pics. Maybe on the opposite wall?

Yes there is a fan on the opposite wall.

Not the CO2 per se. It's the closed room. RH goes through the roof at lights off and I have a dehumidifier for that. However my AC is barely able to keep up with the heat when all 3 lights are on full power. This means the AC runs constantly and ends up drying out the air.

I could really use an 18000 BTU AC but don't have the money nor do I have any room in my electrical panel for a 240v line.

I'm already opening the hoods as each bay empties but the heat will still be the same just the plants will get better light without the glass.
RockinRobot is offline Quote


Old 04-29-2018, 12:45 AM #46
James Howlett
Member

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 86
James Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enoughJames Howlett will become famous soon enough
Gotcha..

If you ducted the lights on a closed line, it would take most of the stress off your AC and RH should stabilize. You'll lose some light to the glass but you can run them closer to the canopy. Just a thought.

Is your AC 1 ton?
James Howlett is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-29-2018, 12:52 AM #47
RockinRobot
Member

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 824
RockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Howlett View Post
Gotcha..

If you ducted the lights on a closed line, it would take most of the stress off your AC and RH should stabilize. You'll lose some light to the glass but you can run them closer to the canopy. Just a thought.

Is your AC 1 ton?
Yes I have a 12K BTU mini split now.

I had thought about it but for stealth purposes I prefer not to exhaust the hot air. I don't always have all 3 bays running so it's not that big of an issue. With 2 lights RH stays at 55-60%. Plus the CMH will not be ducted so would be short term fix at best.
RockinRobot is offline Quote


Old 04-29-2018, 01:54 AM #48
Badfishy1
Senior Member

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,776
Badfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant future
Try tandem breakers if you think you don’t have room in panel. Unless panel is full of tandems already... if so carry on
Badfishy1 is online now Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-29-2018, 01:41 PM #49
RockinRobot
Member

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 824
RockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud ofRockinRobot has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badfishy1 View Post
Try tandem breakers if you think you don’t have room in panel. Unless panel is full of tandems already... if so carry on
Panel is just plain full. Sucks only having 100 amp service.
RockinRobot is offline Quote


Old 04-29-2018, 07:39 PM #50
Badfishy1
Senior Member

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,776
Badfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant futureBadfishy1 has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRobot View Post
Panel is just plain full. Sucks only having 100 amp service.
Run into this problem in south south Florida all the time. Anybody installing less than 200A service should be shot... ok maybe bit extreme but it has become a huge problem. Especially with the new tankless water heaters... plumbers love to sell them to customers. But puts electricians in bad position. Homeowner calls to have repowered then have to explain how they are running a 15kw AC then have a 50A range then have to add (2) 40A 220v circuits but only have 100A...
Badfishy1 is online now Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:15 AM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.