What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Earthboxes, and Earthbox clones, the answer for growing in droughts?

Cascadia

Hello, I have been viewing ICmag for a couple years now, often I hear of growers dealing with droughts and dry climates, many places in the USA are experiencing droughts summer after summer.

I am originally from the Puget sound area in Washington state, growing a few plants each year was as simple as finding a Beaver pond, and planting in high spots in the backwater area. Now I live a bit further south, in Northern California, and after my first summer here last year, I can see that growing won't be as simple, I'm gonna have to provide lots of water for my plants.
What makes this more difficult, is the fact that my job can have me gone from home for 2-3 weeks at times, how the hell am I gonna water my plants?

A couple years ago, the wife gave me a Earthbox for Christmas, which I have used for growing salad greens year round(in a sunroom in winter). The Earthbox is a self-watering planter, it consists of a planter section that holds potting soil, and a reservoir section that holds water. The sections are divided by a baffle with only a small contained area which allows contact between the water and the soil, which allows the soil to draw water automatic as it is needed.

34714earthbox4.jpg

34714earthbox5.jpg

Here is a link to the original Earthbox manufacturer- http://www.earthbox.com/consumer/what_is.html

34714Basic_Earthbox_design-med.JPG