What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Are they worth it?

Giantbugkiller

I am new to this sight sight so help a brother out if you can. My question is this, are seeds from breeders like TGA Genetics (RIP Subcool), MzJill Genetics, Dr Greenthumb, Dungeon Vault Genetics and other breeders that tend to only offer regular seeds worth the $100 to $150 price tag (it is not about those breeders specifically, just breeders that sell in that style, high prices and regular seeds only). Or would a guy be better off going with the more known breeders like Nirvana, Sensi Seeds, Barneys Farm ect. I would be willing to pay the big bucks if i thought i would be getting something special.

yesum

ICMag Donor
Veteran
In my opinion it can go both ways. Mostly the higher price seeds have more to offer yes. Lot of exceptions to that though.

If I had a couple hundred dollars to throw at seeds I would rather get a mix of strains at $50 a pack than do one pack at $200. Odds are more in your favor. If I want a certain strain I will pay over a hundred to get it, but have not been impressed with I guess quite a few after factoring in the price.

Hemphrey Bogart

Veteran
Best seed I’ve gotten in more recent times are from other growers who don’t own seed companies. That said, it all depends on what you want to grow. Are you planning on doing indoors or outdoors? Narrow or Broad leaf plants? Want something that finishes fast or no?

One of the best breeders out there today...and he really doesn’t get enough props...is Gooey Breeder w/Canna Exotics.