What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

My lungs and BHO

midwestHIGHS

Veteran
Well I used to smoke anywhere from 2-4g of quality flower a day and I have been smoking like that daily for many years, and I was spitting up serious amounts of black/brown mucus all hours of the day and night. So I made the switch to BHO/QWET/Absolutes fulltime around 7 months ago all being made by me from bud I have not grown. The first 5-6 months have been great I stopped spitting up huge amounts of brown/black mucus and I didn't have that constant need to hack all fucking day which was really great.
The past two weeks I have been noticing a decrease in lung capicity after dabbing, my lungs feel like they're stuck together and I can't get a full breath in. At first I chalked this up to high concentrations of plant waxes in my bho, but washing with ethanol time and time again has proved there to be very low amount of waxes present. Even the absolutes are giving my lungs these breathing troubles and its really annoying because I love the effects and taste from quality oils, but I dont love the way it's making my lungs feel atm.
Just to make sure it was the oil doing this I stopped for a two days and smoked a shit ton of kingsized joints, I hacked up a little bit of brown mucus, but did not experience any shortness of breath during or after smoking. It could be that I'm extracting oils from buds I have not grown and possibly concentrating fertilizers/pesticides/fungicides and this is creating the shortness of breath I'm feeling?