Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Cannabis Growing Questions > Blumat auto watering

Thread Title Search
Post Reply
Blumat auto watering Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2018, 04:40 AM #5071
kalopatchkid
Member

Join Date: May 2013
Location: HI
Posts: 224
kalopatchkid is a jewel in the roughkalopatchkid is a jewel in the roughkalopatchkid is a jewel in the roughkalopatchkid is a jewel in the roughkalopatchkid is a jewel in the roughkalopatchkid is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabinet Ninja View Post
I've admittedly not read through the whole thread, but: Can blumats be used outdoors?

I've been using them indoors under 600w with coco and have had some fantastic results. I may be moving to a place with a potential outdoor spot. Would 5gal coco fabric pots with 2 blumats per pot work out OK?
I'm using em outdoor in a quasi-perpetual grow. 7 gal pots with 1 carrot + 3 drip distributors per plant.
kalopatchkid is offline Quote


Old 01-13-2018, 07:02 PM #5072
stewart169
IC Mag Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 421
stewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nicestewart169 is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy cHaze View Post
I'm using one blumat sensor carrot per 3gal Smartpot.
I'm giessing for the volumes of soil you mention, you'd have to go for 2 per pot.
They're so easy to set up though... open them, throw upper plastic part and lower clay(carrot) part in a bucket of water, let the clay soak for an hour, smoke a fattie, some back and screw them back together UNDER WATER, making sure no air is trapped inside (stick your pinky finger in there a couple times, this will force all air bubbles out) then DRENCH your soil, put blumats in, connect all tubing to reservoir, open their dials until a drop is just clinging to the end of the drip line and close it three marks further. Set. Now make sure your res is full and go on holidays.
Hope this helps
CC
After a grow with just one in one of my two smart pots it seems the 180-200 level reading is good. I can still feel a very small level of dampness for lack of a better word in the lower 2" of the smart pot.
__________________
Middle aged new grower aspiring to organic success
stewart169 is offline Quote


Old 01-18-2018, 06:37 PM #5073
spaceboy
Member

spaceboy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: pure michigan
Posts: 441
spaceboy has a spectacular aura aboutspaceboy has a spectacular aura aboutspaceboy has a spectacular aura aboutspaceboy has a spectacular aura aboutspaceboy has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by rives View Post
Do you have flow now or is the pump still running with no flow?

As I said before, the pressure switch that turns the pump on and off to charge the accumulator will not turn the pump off until it senses the correct pressure. If there is no flow, then it will command the pump to run from now until doomsday.

Is this the mounted or the unmounted system? If it is unmounted, it should be a simple matter to disconnect the pressure side of the pump and see if you have flow without the accumulator in place.

Did you inadvertently reverse the pump when you took the system apart and exchange the pressure and suction sides?

If you have good flow coming into the pump (try it with an elevated reservoir that will flood the pump inlet via gravity), and the pump won't build pressure, then the pump is toast.

Thanks Rives. Thought I had It figured out because it was working for a few days, but now its back to it's old tricks again. I have the flow figured out. That was because the plastic filter/nozzle on the intake hose got turned around. That was easy fix but didn't do anything about the pump not shutting off.

I ended up taking the pump apart again and re-taping everything. Put it back together and bled the lines a few times and it started working better than it ever has, but now it's doing the same thing again... tried bleeding the lines and that has helped a little but after a day or so it's back to not shutting off.

Do i need a special pressure reducer for the 1/2" line possibly? Not really sure whatbelse it could be. Made sure it was all put together in correct order. It seems like I may be getting air in my lines.
spaceboy is offline Quote


Old 01-18-2018, 08:07 PM #5074
rives
Inveterate Tinkerer


rives's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,307
rives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant futurerives has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceboy View Post
Thanks Rives. Thought I had It figured out because it was working for a few days, but now its back to it's old tricks again. I have the flow figured out. That was because the plastic filter/nozzle on the intake hose got turned around. That was easy fix but didn't do anything about the pump not shutting off.

I ended up taking the pump apart again and re-taping everything. Put it back together and bled the lines a few times and it started working better than it ever has, but now it's doing the same thing again... tried bleeding the lines and that has helped a little but after a day or so it's back to not shutting off.

Do i need a special pressure reducer for the 1/2" line possibly? Not really sure whatbelse it could be. Made sure it was all put together in correct order. It seems like I may be getting air in my lines.
Is your suction line between the pump and reservoir continually flooded, or can it sometimes get a gasp of air? Are you aerating your reservoir? Have you reduced the size of the suction line from what the pump inlet size is? Can you elevate the reservoir above the pump level to allow gravity to help pressurize the pump inlet?
rives is online now Quote


Old 01-19-2018, 10:16 AM #5075
bigbadbiddy
Member

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 740
bigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the rough
Howdy folks,

I have my flower room empty at the moment and need to transplant soon so I figured I will use the time to finally install my pressurized Blumat system.

Just wanted to run this by you real quick but step-by-step, because this is the first time I set them up and I don't want to mess up

Step 1:
Drain my reservoir, cut hole for the "exit valve" and install it. Seal with silicone? Or will the provided rubber o-ring be enough to seal due to the pressure?

Step 2:
Connect exit valve from reservoir to pre-filter. Connect pre-filter to pump. Connect Pump to accumulator, connect accumulator to feed-line.

Step 3:
Lay feed line along the back wall of flowering room and using T connectors create 4 main feedlines across the room for the 4 rows of pots (4 pots each). From the feedline, using T connectors/reducers, lay a 3mm tube to each pot in order to later attach the Blumats.
I bought and wanted to install a shutoff valve for each of the 4 main feed lines coming from the back wall so I can later shut them off and harvest them "row by row". Thoughts?

Step 4:
Soak Blumats in water, insert into pots, connect and let her rip.
I also have these "slave drippers"... I have 5 gallon pots so for each pot I figured I spread out a bit where the water drops are dispersed so I planned to have each Blumat with 2-3 of these drippers that allow for the water to drop into the pot at 2-3 locations simultaneously instead of just next to the Blumat carrot itself. Experience with those/thoughts?

Step 5:
Over the next hour or so and then checking up again over the coming days, adjust the Blumats until they disperse water as needed.


Sounds about right?

The only issue I see so far is that the shut-off valves will be way at the end of the flower room that I can't reach when its full.
Maybe I include another main shutoff valve shortly after the pump?

The way I understood it, these are important so I don't fill the feed line with air bubbles when I shut off the pump to harvest or something. About right?

I also read about a bleedline or bleed-off valve.
I wasn't planning to run the feedline in a circle around the flower room but as I mentioned above run a straight line across the back wall and have 4 lines for the 4 rows of pots come off that wall and go towards the front/door of the flower room.
I have end-pieces to plug the end of those feed lines.

Should I just leave them open instead so they can "bleed out" ?

Thanks for all everyone reading and helping. Will update with pics if helpful/required.
bigbadbiddy is offline Quote


Old 01-20-2018, 05:05 PM #5076
Ez Rider
Senior Member

Ez Rider's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,035
Ez Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to allEz Rider is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadbiddy View Post
Howdy folks,

I have my flower room empty at the moment and need to transplant soon so I figured I will use the time to finally install my pressurized Blumat system.

Just wanted to run this by you real quick but step-by-step, because this is the first time I set them up and I don't want to mess up

Step 1:
Drain my reservoir, cut hole for the "exit valve" and install it. Seal with silicone? Or will the provided rubber o-ring be enough to seal due to the pressure?

Step 2:
Connect exit valve from reservoir to pre-filter. Connect pre-filter to pump. Connect Pump to accumulator, connect accumulator to feed-line.

Step 3:
Lay feed line along the back wall of flowering room and using T connectors create 4 main feedlines across the room for the 4 rows of pots (4 pots each). From the feedline, using T connectors/reducers, lay a 3mm tube to each pot in order to later attach the Blumats.
I bought and wanted to install a shutoff valve for each of the 4 main feed lines coming from the back wall so I can later shut them off and harvest them "row by row". Thoughts?

Step 4:
Soak Blumats in water, insert into pots, connect and let her rip.
I also have these "slave drippers"... I have 5 gallon pots so for each pot I figured I spread out a bit where the water drops are dispersed so I planned to have each Blumat with 2-3 of these drippers that allow for the water to drop into the pot at 2-3 locations simultaneously instead of just next to the Blumat carrot itself. Experience with those/thoughts?

Step 5:
Over the next hour or so and then checking up again over the coming days, adjust the Blumats until they disperse water as needed.


Sounds about right?

The only issue I see so far is that the shut-off valves will be way at the end of the flower room that I can't reach when its full.
Maybe I include another main shutoff valve shortly after the pump?

The way I understood it, these are important so I don't fill the feed line with air bubbles when I shut off the pump to harvest or something. About right?

I also read about a bleedline or bleed-off valve.
I wasn't planning to run the feedline in a circle around the flower room but as I mentioned above run a straight line across the back wall and have 4 lines for the 4 rows of pots come off that wall and go towards the front/door of the flower room.
I have end-pieces to plug the end of those feed lines.

Should I just leave them open instead so they can "bleed out" ?

Thanks for all everyone reading and helping. Will update with pics if helpful/required.
Your feedlines need to be in one continuous loop, or the system won't maintain pressure properly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostqueen View Post

I reserve the right to be wrong, of course.
Ez Rider is offline Quote


Old 01-22-2018, 12:15 PM #5077
bigbadbiddy
Member

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 740
bigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ez Rider View Post
Your feedlines need to be in one continuous loop, or the system won't maintain pressure properly.
Damn I thought that was optional.
Thanks!

Shit I think I need to go back to the start of the thread and read that again but since I am already replying, might as well shoot my question:
Is that why my accumulator has 2 exits?
Do I basically need to run the feedline in a loop back to the accumulator and connect it there to maintain the pressure?
bigbadbiddy is offline Quote


Old 01-22-2018, 06:12 PM #5078
Jhhnn
Banned

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 5,003
Jhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant futureJhhnn has a brilliant future
Having the feed lines in a loop is optimal but not really necessary. The blumats won't release water fast enough to affect delivery to ones at the end of a run. If that happens in large installations, it means that the feed line isn't big enough.
Jhhnn is offline Quote


Old 01-23-2018, 09:55 AM #5079
bigbadbiddy
Member

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 740
bigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the roughbigbadbiddy is a jewel in the rough
Ah alright.

But I did understand it right that "having it in a loop" basically means that both the start of the feedline and its end are connected to the accumulator?
bigbadbiddy is offline Quote


Old 01-23-2018, 10:00 AM #5080
saitama
Member

saitama's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 547
saitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nicesaitama is just really nice
I'm a believer. Blumats work. 100% coco, v+b and no runoff. Set and forget.

saitama is offline Quote


2 members found this post helpful.

Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:46 AM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.