What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Flowering clones reverting to veg

brown_thumb

I'm new to growing and decided to try cloning. When I topped some small plants, which went into early flowering, I dipped the flowering tops in Clonex and put them in soil. All of them survived.

What's odd is ALL the mother plants are still lollipops (due to a lighting goof) but ALL the clones seem to be reverting back to veg.

Can anyone explain why?

MrBungle

If you cloned it when it was already flowering, then it will take time to revert back to veg.... i usually pluck off pre flowers being careful not to disturb the vegetation, as much as possible to encourage it back to veg

jesbuds

Why do you think a plant without a root system would revert back to vegging? (it's a thought question, not being condescending)

Flowering is not just lighting schedule, it also has to do with a plant's maturity. Grow a seed under 12/12 light, it won't start flower until 7-8 weeks in because it isn't ready before that.

brown_thumb

If you cloned it when it was already flowering, then it will take time to revert back to veg.... i usually pluck off pre flowers being careful not to disturb the vegetation, as much as possible to encourage it back to veg

I considered that but never bothered. In fact, I didn't expect the clones to live. It was just an experiment. The flowers on the clones are disappearing without me having to nip them off.

Why do you think a plant without a root system would revert back to vegging? (it's a thought question, not being condescending)