What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Perlite & other buckets, drip refill systems

U

Ununionized

I have been growing in Hempy buckets since 2009.

This time I needed to not water manually cause my wife and I left the new house we just bought

to go back to the old house we're slowly, moving out of, readying to put up for sale.

One of the kids is renting from us in the old house, with a roomate too, so we don't have to hurry.

I remarked in the Official Hempy Bucket thread that I accidentally poisoned the shit out of my plants by not trusting the timing of my travels to allow me to get back in time, so I stood the plants in fertilizer solution and then left.

I had the timers come on, on TOP of that water I left the plants standing in, and the water levels stayed too high, and it poisoned them.

However:

The timer I built came on right I assume, everything seemed like it was running right - and it's this part I wanna tell people about.

I don't have a picture of this but it's something I know bothers a lot of people.

They have to go out of town

and they need a simple, reliable and reasonably adjustable timer, that can do something: turn on for - however long,

every two days

every three days

every four days

for an ''ON'' interval they set,

and then repeat, ad infinitum.

I am going to describe this and hopefully some of you can finally use two, cheap-0 timers,

to create one,

that fires off however long you tell it - typically you're looking at running a little pump for somewhere between thirty minutes and an hour I guess, for most pots, or even most plants in the ground, when you DO water - every few days.