What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

THC AND CBD MADE FROM/BY YEAST

CBDHELP

Hi everyone, i am interested in what your opinions are about the CBD production from yeast.

Im new to this forum, i hope its okay to post external links.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/cannabinoids-yeast-1.5035819

As its stated in this article and many others currently popping across the news sites, they are able to efficiently produce cannabinoids.

"They are now industrializing the microbe and then working on scaling up production."

Prices like 20 Cent a Gramm of pure CBD are mentioned.

As i said im quite new to this and looking to get my informations right so please take it easy with me.

I would like to know what you guys think. Are these yeast cannabinoids likely to replace our CBD/THC products on the market? Making hemp fields needless?

f-e

Mentor
Veteran
Nearly posted this myself. Yes, they can do it, but no talk of yield that I see. I also read them talking of citrus fruits are a source for the same lemon flavours found in pot. So they can economically produce hash and baked goods. Pills to pop. Things like that.

They have got what they wanted from legalisation now. Lots of people able to experiment freely with this new revenue maker. Finding methods that big pharma can employ to answer all the health reasons that were given for legalisation. Very soon we won't need to grow cannabis for medical reasons. Or making tinctures. Resin. Oils. Edibles. In fact, the only reason to grow green might be to smoke it. Which will probably see it banned again.

CBDHELP