What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Blumat Newbie Gotcha!

TychoMonolyth

Boreal Curing
I'm new to Blumats

I was going away for 3 weeks and decided to get Blumat Jrs to do the watering for me. I had culled 2 Autoflowers from 4 seedlings. Since there was a possibility that the trip could have been extended another 2 weeks, I decided to use a large reservoir (20lt water jug). A month before I left, I installed the Blumats to test and they were working perfectly. When I left, plants were booming.
picture.php

picture.php

When I got back, my plants were dry as a bone and my Blumats were just sitting there and the water reservoir was still near full. I put both plants in the shower for a good re-hydrating. The big one pulled through, and the runt never came back. I examined the Blumats and they seemed fine. I decided to wash it all out and put it away. When I cleaned the feeder line, I put the line to my mouth to blow out any water. A a couple snakes of slime dropped out. Line was plugged with algae.

In hindsight, before I left, the water in my reservoir looked a little cloudy (slaps forehead - If I had changed it, I would have pretty big plants by now).

The lesson:
Keep the water/nutes fresh.

The question:
How often should you change the water? Does adding liquid nutes affect the water refresh schedule?

My thoughts are once a month. Is that too long to wait?
(btw, I'm using a 1 liter bottle now. lol)

picture.php

AgentPothead

Just this guy, ya know?
I don't know, but I feel like using whatever hydro people use to keep their reservoirs algae/gunk free would probably be a huge boon to blumats.

big315smooth

mama tried
Veteran