What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Ubuntu or Debian?

dddaver

Veteran
I am totally new to this. Sorry if my questions seem stupid/naive. First a little background. I have dabbled a little with Ubuntu and have a copy of 12.1 LTE on CD.My hard drive crapped out on my HP laptop. Extra sucks because the fucking windows 7 os was on it. HP support was little to no help. One Indian support person offered to send a new HD with a windows 7 installation disk for $137 but with only a 3 month warranty. But the other one crapped out in 15 months so every 15 months later I'll be doing this all again? I wanted to think about that. When I called back a few days later after deciding to go for it they said they didn't have one but would give me some numbers to call. WTF? Nah. Thanks but no thanks. Since I had already removed the old hard drive to get the numbers I ordered a new smaller one (only 160GB) on Ebay. Only $30 with free shipping. Just screwing around I tried loading the Ubuntu on it even with no hard drive in it. It worked! I just can't save anything. I'm posting this using no hard drive. Coolio.

Firefox that comes with Ubuntu and has a direct link to the Debian os downloading site that must be furnished by the Ubuntu software engineers I imagine. I'm wondering if I should bother downloading a copy of Debian. I have another laptop, I could get it from there. Is Debian even worth getting though? I'm still dealing with the learning curve on Ubuntu. Is that one that different? I'm fine using Ubuntu now. I still need to figure out which anti-virus will work best with Ubuntu. Then different with Debian? Wait...

dbuzz

Veteran