What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Genetic acquisition ethics

So I want to incorporate new genetic material into my verity's, but I don't want to rip off anybody's work just like I don't want others to take my breeding work.
I have been breeding for 30 years in Oregon and have developed several varieties in high demand that are looking very true breeding and are currently at f6 all grown and selected outdoors.
I want to get others opinions about buying seeds and just considering them to be in the public domain, if there is no mention of "do not reproduce" on the package or contract. I'm thinking as there is no plant patents for cannabis plants, then the only legal protection is a trade mark on the name. Is that where we are at?

budsicles

If you are not selling/spreading the genetics, then you can do whatever you want with them. No ethical problems. If you are mixing genetic lines and taking it to f6...congratulations...you are more of a breeder than 95% of "breeders" that sell genetics. So I think you are perfectly fine selling such "worked" gear.

The problem is when you take another breeder's seedline and sell the f2's as your own, without doing any actual work on the genetics.

Just my opinion.

Weird

3rd-Eye Jedi
Veteran
there are so many ways to look at it tbh

i personally respect all requests but never put any limits on my own or anything passed without

that said there are many stains that have been lost even without restriction so for me it comes down to proprietary and liable to being lost or shared and hopefully saved over the term of generations