What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Harvesting slowly: TOP to BOTTOM?

hybridtek

Fellow travelers,

I was wondering if anyone has experience in harvesting from the top buds first, then letting the mid/lower growth get more light and develop more, then harvesting again.

Here is my current grow:

The LED's penetrate the tops and they are much more developed and will finish first, but the mid to low growth needs more time.

I am doing DWC so the growth is insane, but I've never done this approach before.

It looks like the steps would be:
  1. Cut the 40-50 tops six inches or so from the top.
  2. Wait a week (or two?) and cut down the rest.

Anyone have experience? Threads or pics are very welcome!
thanks

Phaeton

Speed of Dark
Veteran
I tried it more than once on several different strains. Too good an idea to waste.

Alas, the shock of taking the top buds off stresses the the plants to the point they quit growing the lower buds.

I then started using side lights and upping the power until it was 50/50 overhead and side.
That fattened up the lower buds just fine.
I have room to do that, it takes almost a six foot circle to enclose side lights all around a plant.

Attachments

• More watts on the side than overhead.jpg
    More watts on the side than overhead.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 11
B

Baron Greenback

My mentor used to swear by doing exactly that, tops off, lights dropped to encourage lower flower swelling.
Personally, I just veg longer and train them a bit, try to remove some of the lower stuff pre triggering, that sort of thing.
If you have the space, try it on one plant perhaps.
Good luck.

cough_cough_eer

Anita Bonghitt