What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Need to power Greenhouse, Solar maybe?

Bulldog420

Veteran
Hello everybody,

I am new to the greenhouse sub forum and it looks like I can gain tons of knowledge here. I am in the building phase of my greenhouse and was starting to plan out electrical. My needs would be:

4 20x20 fans

1 large 42" fan

Auto ridge vent

Auto side walls

Last but not least maybe some led lights for supplemental lighting.

The greenhouse it self is over 1400sq ft and needs to have air circulation at the least. The led lights would more be used for starting early plants and finishing sativa's.

I have a couple options, and digging a 18" trench from my main panel to the greenhouse would be one option. However, that is over 500 ft away and would take a lot of work. The second option that is looking more and more appealing is solar power. I have seen decent options on Lowe's and Home Depot web sites that even include batteries for prolonged energy at night. 3rd option might be a diesel generator, but I don't like how noisy that could be. Just wondering if anybody else has encountered these problems, and if so, what was a solution that worked out. Any and all advice is welcome, and Happy 4th!!

HidingInTheHaze

Veteran
Well the best option I could think would be to run it off of house power, then you would have all the power you could ever want with like a 50 amp sub panel out there. You will have to up size the wire due to voltage drop at that distance however.